"All humans are members of the same body Created from one essence"

"Human beings are members of a whole in creation of one essence and soul. If one member is afflicted with pain, other members uneasy will remain."

Sunday, 3 April 2011

Popular protests in Burkina Faso

Burkina Faso borders on Mali in the west and north, on Niger in the northeast, on Benin in the southeast, and on Togo and Ghana, and Cote d'Ivoire in the south. Ouagadougou is the capital and the largest city.  

Burkina Faso, the tiny West African nation, has a vibrant youth who has been protesting against the regime.

A student, Justin Zongo who was placed on custody, has been killed. Justin Zongo's mistreatment led to his death. The police said that the student had menigintis which is not true! This lie has amplified the protests to the entire country. 

Since the end of the so-called revolutionary period after the coup d'├ętat on 15 October 1987, which took the life of Thomas Sankara, there have been several face-offs with the regime of Blaise Compaore.

Lila Chouli gives a behind-the-scenes view on protests. She wrote, "The regime quickly returned to its authoritarian and military reflexes when demonstrations spread throughout the country and a turning point came on 11 March, the day the student union ANEB had called for a mass demonstration."

Then, she added, "The capital was completely sealed off by the army, the police and the gendarmes, who put down the protests. It was only that evening that Blaise Compaore deigned to address the nation for the first time since the unrest began. But he only talked about the material damage caused to public and private property."

Burkina Faso is a parliamentary republic governed under the constitution of 1991, as amended. The executive branch is headed by a president, who is elected by popular vote for a five-year term and is eligible for a second term.  

The prime minister, who is the head of government, is appointed by the president. The unicameral legislature consists of a 111-member National Assembly, whose members are popularly elected to serve five-year terms. Administratively, the country is divided into 45 provinces.

No comments: